Virginia Homes, Farms, and Land


Contact James

Burning Brush From Winter Storms

We enjoyed the much needed weekend rain don’t forget it’s still spring fire season in Virginia. Many of us living in the country burn leaves, downed limbs from the windstorms and brush to keep our property clean. From February 15 to April 30 burning in or within 300 feet of woodlands, brush lands, dry grass fields, or other flammable materials before 4 PM remains prohibited. Some localities also require a permit before burning on your property so check with your local Sheriff’s office before you burn (It’s better to make a call before you burn than to have them show up while you are burning bi. It’s a Class 3 misdemeanor with a fine up to $500 for burning and could be a criminal violation if the fire escapes from your property and damages others property. Have a great spring and be safe with your fires!