Virginia Homes, Farms, and Land


Contact James

Be Careful with Fire

Today brings the start of Spring Fire Season (February 15 to April 30) to Virginia.  I found the following in formation on the Virginia Department of Forestry web site:

“The Commonwealth’s 4 p.m. Burning Law goes into effect Feb. 15, 2012 – the start of spring fire season in Virginia. This law prohibits burning before 4 p.m. each day (Feb. 15 – April 30) if the fire is in, or within 300 feet of, woodland, brushland or fields containing dry grass or other flammable materials. A violation of this law is a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by up to a $500 fine. In addition to the criminal violation, those who allow a fire to escape are liable for the cost of suppressing the fire as well as any damage caused to others’ property.”

So follow the law and be safe when you burn this spring.  Also remember, your local city, town, county, and/or neighborhood may have additional restrictions on burning so don’t forget to check on local restrictions/regulations before you burn.  Let’s all keep Smokey the Bear happy and be careful with fire!